The purpose of the ISSA is to stimulate and advance the general welfare and safety of winter sports enthusiasts; to provide a medium for the exchange of
snowmobiling snowmobiling; to serve the interests of snowmobile owners in the state of Iowa; to information; and to perform all desirable and lawful
functions for the successful operation of the association and in the general public interest.
The ISSA has been serving the Iowa snowmobiling community since 1973. Through a dedicated membership of more than 50 member-clubs, the
association has helped to maintain an expansive fleet of groomers and a trail system encompassing 8,000 miles. Without the ISSA over the past 30 years,
snowmobiles--for example--would have been held to a 15 mph speed limit in Iowa, and there would not have been any night or ditch riding. The ISSA is a
dues-paying member of the
American Council of Snowmobile Associations, and each June, our organization sends delegates to the International
Snowmobile Congress and hosts a statewide convention each November.
Funded by member dues and grants, the ISSA is governed by a Board of Directors that meets semi-monthly. Click on the 'Calendar of Events' link at left for
dates, times and minutes are posted at left. Annually-elected officers include the President, Vice President and Secretary, while the Treasurer is appointed
by the sitting President. The state is divided into
10 regions. Each region is represented by a director who is elected to his or her post by ISSA members in
his or her respective region at convention. Terms last two years, and each Region Director can appoint assistant(s). Up to five Past Presidents (see left)
can also serve on the board, and many board members chair the various committees which help the ISSA function. A complete list of the current Board of
Directors and Committee Chairs can be obtained by clicking the 'Contact Us' link above.
Past Presidents
Brian Carmichael
Chris Willey
Merv Hoermann
Jim Willey
Gary Burger
Gary McVicker
Merv Hoermann
Terry Durby
Jerry Kramer
Dennis Nauman
Jeff Jans
Bruno Andreini
Dave Carmichael
Scott Kooiker
Dale Vagts
Dick Melick
Roger Muth
Larry Childs
Dan Martin
Marv Heikens
Chuck Colegrove
Rich Moench
Gary Fairchild
Bill Nordstrom
Gary Bruns
Richard Grosse
Larry Huntley

Listed in order
of most recent
The benefits of an ISSA membership are great. First and foremost is the unified front of snowmobilers lobbying on behalf of the sport in Iowa. In 2002, the
association hired its own lobbyist, Des Moines area lawyers Mike Heller and Paula Feltner, to keep an eye on snowmobiling interests at the State Capitol.
Members also receive a free subscription to the
Iowa Snowmobiler magazine, the official ISSA publication. Graduating high school seniors from ISSA
families are  also able to apply for a scholarship from the ISSA's
Education and Scholarship Foundation. Additionally, the ISSA sponsors a Grand Raffle
each year. And lastly, members are eligible to participate in the ISSA's
Awards Program.
Copyright 2003-21 Iowa State Snowmobile Association. All Rights Reserved.
Questions or comments?
Board of Directors
Meeting Minutes
ISSA Promotional
Click to enlarge.
Iowa State Snowmobile Association
Show of hands at 2018 ISSA Convention, Spirit Lake, Region 1
About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Trail Maps  |  Snowmobile Clubs  |  Magazine  |  Donations  |  Charity  |  Scholarship  |  Awards  |  Trail Grants  |  Youth Safety  |  Calendar
Iowa State Snowmobile Association